My Only Way Out

(is to go so far in)

A Most Sickly Christmas

Posted by Cauri on December 27, 2006

A very quick update, because I just woke up and there are Christmas toys to play with.

This season filled with holiday joy, warm spirits, and the people that you love, came crashing down around me last Friday night. I couldn’t sleep for longer than 30-minute stretches, my warm little body fighting to keep my fever under 103 degrees. On Saturday I was miserable, my throat was sealed shut, and I had to talk to my love with a pen and paper. Went to the doctor only to learn I had strep throat. The next three days, which are supposed to be the happiest days of the year, were spent eating ice cream and sucking ice cubes and crying because all sorts of fancy foods, like mashed potatoes, stung too much and I couldn’t get them down.

Luckily, I was surrounded by the ones I love. And Ryan was lucky enough to be surrounded by me, and for me to be able to take over his room. I slept almost the entire weekend, waking occasionally to throw up in his garbage, because I ate too many cough drops or used too much throat spray. And then I would whine for an extra hour, because that meant a whole hour without sucking an ice cube or going near another cough drop.

On Christmas Eve, we came home to my house to be greeted by a monsterous puppy who was just off the walls. I took him out to pee, which meant Bruno couldn’t decide which way he wanted to go, which sticks he wanted to chew, which leg he wanted to get tangled in his leash. I struggled with him for a while out in the cold before giving up and bringing him back inside, where he promptly walked over to his bed and peed. Then he came prancing over to me and bit my arm. I yelled, and he growled back at me. I stuck him in his crate until the barking and yowling was killing my sick little head, and then Ryan played with him until my dad came home. That night, I was up again with the tossing and the turning and the fever, and before I knew it, it was Christmas morning.

I did have an amazing Christmas with my love, but already I’m tired of sitting up and typing, so all the amazing presents and quality-time stories will have to wait =)

On that note, I’ll leave you with a picture of our little Christmas devil.

Leave a Reply

 
