My Only Way Out

(is to go so far in)

the humdrum of daily life

Posted by Cauri on September 12, 2006

As excited as I am that it’s starting to smell like Halloween, that I can look forward to pumpkin bread and fuzzy hoodies and lots of hot chocolate, I’m also sort of depressed that summer’s over.  I’m grumpy that it’s already so cold out, and my head is heavy, my mind is loopy, and I can’t stop sneezing.  It’s the second week of school, and I’m beat.  I’m babysitting in a half hour, but I really just want to stay in my ducky pants and fuzzy socks and drink some tea.

Over-all I am really enjoying my classes this semester.  Yes, it sucks that I’ve finally reached my senior year, and I’m now taking my sciences & maths, but I’ve gotta graduate someday.  My professors are all really nice and actually know what they’re talking about, and I’ve made friends in most of my classes.  I actually enjoy going to school and have actually been motivated to do my work!  The only major headache is parking.  I’ve been paying $7 a day to circle the parking lot, praying that somebody, anybody, anywhere, leaves.  On Thursday I actually had to park on the roof of the parking deck!  I didn’t even know it was possible to park on the roof.  I found myself wishing I lived in a dorm.  At least I’d only have to search for my shoes in the morning, instead of a parking spot.

So I’ve been waking up earlier, drinking lots of coffee, and heading out the door to get to school a little earlier.  At least, this is what I do in my head.  It kinda worked yesterday (I got to class right on time yesterday).  But today, I was a half hour late for my first class (I stopped in at my old Starbucks this morning, to hand in keys, to drink free coffee, to chat with the regulars & my old partners).  I’ll blame parking at school for as long as I can get away with it though.  But it looks like I will do pretty well in my classes this semester, and it also looks like I may actually get a degree at the end of the year =)

The main thing that’s keeping me going today though, is my wonderful boyfriend and the new Yeah Yeah Yeahs cd he burned me…  Even though I only like three songs on it and have been playing them over and over and over for the past 3 days, every time I get in the car to drive to school and circle for a parking space. 

Leave a Reply

 
