My Only Way Out

(is to go so far in)

an unconditional love

Posted by Cauri on June 27, 2006

Last night my dad, brother, and I actually all stayed home together.  We all lounged around the living room, watching tv, and sharing hilarious stories for a couple hours.  It was a lot of fun and something I think we all really missed.  I realized that my brother going off at me the night before–It was because i really haven’t made time to just hang around with them in a very long time.  I guess it’s hard, growing up, and figuring out who you are, independent from your family.  When we were younger, my brother and I clung to each other because we went through everything together.  We were always really close, because we were the only constants we had in each other’s lives (Of course we had our parents, but bouncing from mom’s house to dad’s house, your sibling is the only one that is always with you).  And even though we are so different from each other, and if we met each other in any other way, we would never even talk to each other, let alone actually be friends, we stilll have an amazing closeness that I realize most people don’t have with their siblings.  My 20-year-old brother still tells me he loves me every time he heads out the door, every time he hangs up the phone.  That’s something most people don’t even do with their parents anymore.  I guess last night was just one of those moments, where i realized, no matter what decisions I make in life, no matter where I end up, I will always have this.  This amazing, close family who will cling to each other through anything. 

2 Responses to “an unconditional love”

  1. Lauren said

    I had a long talk about this with Tim once – about how my siblings and I really aren’t very close, whereas he and his sister are (well, they were in the past – things have changed due to relatively recent developments). Because of his family situation and he and his sister being the only two who were, as you said “constants”, they became very close. It’s kind of crappy that divorce will often to that to a family – you just learn to appreciate each other more – but it’s also a very good thing that you can be very close with people you are supposed to be close with.

    When are you free this week, girlie??? I miss you!!

  2. Cauri said

    That’s interesting that Tim noticed the same thing with his sister…It’s something that kinda just hit me more recently. You still seem to have pretty good relationships with your siblings…It’s not like you’re about to cut them out of your life or anything.. You all get along, you’re just different people at different stages, I think..

    And Aah i meant to call you before i headed out to work and i just forgot!! I could do something tomorrow/Wed night or Thurs night! Dinner, ice cream, palace, Mario, whatever you want! =)

  3. Kestrel said

    My brother and I are really close too… I don’t think anyone else can understand you quite like a sibling, if that makes sense. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
