My Only Way Out

(is to go so far in)

moving on up in the coffee world

Posted by Cauri on May 27, 2006

Today was my first day running the shift at work, and I had a GREAT day.  Not only was everyone getting along, but they were constantly joking around, and so many customers said they wished they worked with us.  It was an awesome day, and my boss kept complimenting me on how much fun he was having and how much different today was than most other saturdays when tensions are running high.  I was there for nine hours and they literally flew by.  I kept making a list of things that needed to be done and posted it up, and updated it about every other hour or so…That way, everything was getting done, but i wasn't constantly giving people orders…I gave them breathing time…I let them joke around and have fun during the down-time between customers, and when we needed something made, they all hurried to get it done.  I didn't have any issues with respect (which i was anticipating from other baristas).  Everyone seems genuinely happy for me, and I gave that back to them with all sorts of smiley-face love all over the store.  The whole day was awesome, the environment was just perfect, and now i look forward to working on saturdays.  Of course my boyfriend doesn't want me working saturdays, but i just love it so much more than working during the week.  The whole attitude in the store is so different, and saturdays just make me happy =)

One Response to “moving on up in the coffee world”

  1. Eip said

    that is so wonderful. it sounds like a great day.

Leave a Reply

 
