My Only Way Out

(is to go so far in)

storytime jitters

Posted by Cauri on March 9, 2006

Storytime is soon, and i’m nervous because i never know what i’ll have to be dealing with.  Last week went really really well…but that was mostly because of the snow and only the happy, enjoyable storytime kids showing up.  I’m scared of the cd-throwing kids and basically any parent that looks at storytime as a mcdonald’s playplace and drops their toddler there and wanders away.  This week’s theme is dragons, and i had a hard time finding good stories, but i did manage to get four pretty good dragon books and three fillers.  I really love going to the library to find these books now.  It’s kind of my way of unwinding every week.  And pretending i’m still 4 years old. Going to the library, plopping myself on the floor, and searching through all the colorful books until something grabs my attention.  I usually spend a good hour to two hours there, and that’s when i really limit myself.  But i’ve been on a kind of story overload this week.  I set up our story email, and we have to take a million pictures today for the featured storytime community board.  I guess I’m just hoping only the cute, happy, fun kids come today.  And maybe the people i work with can say mean things to the parents who have no clue what parenting is.

Leave a Reply

 
