My Only Way Out

(is to go so far in)

I missed your shadow

Posted by Cauri on January 26, 2006

My boyfriend dragged me to see Less than jake a couple days ago. I wasn’t really excited about it, but I was excited about getting out of babysitting early and spending a monday night out with my boyfriend & his friends. At the beginning i felt kinda out of place, and i was just staring at the back of this manly girl in front of me. My boyfriend was behind me, singing and drinking, and every so often hugging me or kissing the top of my head. I was watching our shadows on the manly girl’s back…my boyfriend’s excited movements & loving gestures toward me. He went away for a couple of minutes to get us more drinks, and I was looking at my sad little shadow, solitary and stationary. I was wondering why I had agreed to come along, since I was having such a miserable time. But when my boyfriend started coming back, I could see his shadow slowly moving closer to me, and I was getting so excited. When he got back, he handed me my drink and showered me in love, and I couldn’t remember the last time I’d seen him so happy. I turned ahead again and watched our combined shadow on the back of the girl in front of me, and I felt so complete. I became so overwhelmed with love for him, I had tears in my eyes. I told him I missed his shadow, but I don’t think he really knew what I was talking about.

One Response to “I missed your shadow”

  1. Ryan said

    I love you and…..I love you.

Leave a Reply

 
